

Approved Minutes
Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Call to Order: President Aschenbach called the meeting to order at 1:05pm Present: Cheryl Aschenbach, Barbara Baston, Lisa Gardiner, Cory McClellan, Carrie Nyman.

Guests: Sue Mouck, Dr. Tammy Robinson

Approval of Agenda: (Gardiner/Nyman: MSCU) with deletion of Minimum Qualifications and Equivalencies from closed session.

Minutes: Approve minutes from May 13, 2014. (Nyman/McClellan: MSCU)

Public Comment None.

Action

- 1. Authorize Senate president Cheryl Aschenbach to act on behalf of the Senate during summer. (Gardiner/McClellan: MSCU)
- 2. Approve Curriculum actions and forward to Board. (Gardiner/Baston: MSCU)
- 3. Approve 2013-2014 Curriculum Action Log and forward it to the Board. (McClellan/Nyman: MSCU)
- 4. Approve Handbook for Correspondence Instructors. (Gardiner/McClellan: MSCU)
- 5. Approve 2013 Human Services IPR Document is missing Ch. 4 and Ch. 3 is short, but Kam Vento previously explained to Cheryl that there wasn't anything to put into those chapters. The HUS IPR is more complete than prior (2012). (Gardiner/Baston: MS, McClellan abstained)
- 6. Approve 2014-2015 faculty committee appointments (attached). (Nyman/Gardiner: MSCU)

Discussion

1. Review recommendations from evaluation of shared governance and budgeting process.

Discussion included a chairs committee as proposed by Dr. Zentner. Resolution was committee is not necessary; Consultation Council or impromptu meetings will meet need. Consensus was to add an Institutional Effectiveness committee. Committee will address new section of CIMP for areas that are not addressed in other plans such as fiscal services, governance, research and planning.

 2014 Physical Education IPR (Area E2) – Document is in initial review and still needs more work.

> Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu

2014-2015

President Cheryl Aschenbach

Vice-President

Carrie Nyman

Secretaries

Lisa Gardiner

Richard Swanson

Senators

Barbara Baston

Cory McClellan

Information

Reports

- Senators None
- Administration Dr. Robinson announced that LCC was one of four colleges that has been awarded \$191,000 from the Industry Driven Regional Collaborative grant. Funds will be utilized in the areas of Health Occupations, Gunsmithing, and Business.
- LCFA None

Closed Session (Senate entered into closed session at 2:10 pm)

- Review applications and select 2014-2015 Minimum Qualifications Chair.
- Review applications and select 2014-2015 Flex Chair

Closed Session Report (2:18 pm)

- Lisa Gardiner was selected as the 2014-2015 MQ Chair.
- Further recruitment and review will occur for Flex Chair position; no applications were received.

Adjournment: (Nyman/McClellan)

Next Academic Senate Meetings Summer meeting TBA Tentative date for first Fall meeting is Tuesday, August 26th at 3:00 pm.

Future Agenda Items

- Approve 2014 Business IPR
- Approve 2014 Automotive Technology IPR
- Assign 2014-2015 IPR mentors
- Handbook for Online Instructors further review and approval
- IPR Handbook further review and approval
- AP 4005 Enrollment Management and Attendance Accounting
- Ethics Statement: AP 3050
- Accept 2014 Annual IPR Updates
- 2013 Human Services IPR
- 2013 Welding IPR
- 2014 Athletics IPR
- 2014 Agriculture IPR
- 2014 Physical Education IPR

Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu Faculty Committee Assignments 2014-2015

Academic Planning (4 Chairs)

Cheryl Aschenbach – P Robert Schofield – P Carie Camacho – P Ross Stevenson– P Alison Somerville – N

Consultation Council/Strategic Planning (5+ALO*)

Cheryl Aschenbach – Senate President (governance rep) – P Robert Schofield (planning rep) – P Carie Camacho (planning rep) – P Sue Mouck (ALO) – P Ross Stevenson (governance rep) – P Alison Somerville – N

Curriculum/Academic Standards (subcommittee of Senate) (7 plus Articulation Officer)

Cheryl Aschenbach – P Betsy Elam – P Lisa Gardiner – P Kory Konkol – P Cory McClellan – P Sue Mouck – P Toni Poulsen – P Chad Lewis – P Alison Somerville (AO) – P

Facilities Planning (2)

Ross Brosius – P Brian Wolf – P Jake Williams – N John Martin – N

Human Resource Planning (& Faculty Flex Subcommittee) (3)

Dan Anderson – P Sandy Beckwith – P Colleen Baker– P Lori Collier – N

Institutional Effectiveness

Sue Mouck – N Cheryl Aschenbach – N Robert Schofield – N

Institutional Technology (3)

Michael Giampaoli – P Jackson Ng – P Garrett Taylor – N

Student Services Planning/Student Success (4 incl. Matriculation Officer)

Barbara Baston – P Noelle Eckley – P Tom Rogers – P Buck Bauer – N

Scholarship, Financial Aid Appeals, Academic Renewal & Student Grievances (3) Richard Swanson – P Carrie Nyman – P

Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu Nancy Beterbide - N

Safety (2) – Ad-hoc Committee Established Fall 2012 Cindy Howe – P Ken Theobald – P Kam Vento – P Glen Yonan – N

> Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu