

LASSEN COMMUNITY COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE

2012-2013

President

Cheryl Aschenbach

Vice-President

Nancy Beterbide

Secretaries

Lisa Gardiner

Richard Swanson

Senators

Michael Giampaoli

Carrie Nyman

Approved Minutes Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Meeting called to order by Senate President Aschenbach at 4:15 p.m.

Senators present: Cheryl Aschenbach, Nancy Beterbide, Lisa Gardiner, Michael Giampaoli,

Carrie Nyman, Richard Swanson

Guest present: Sue Mouck

Approval of Agenda with two revisions (Beterbide/Giampaoli: MSCU):

- 1. Remove Action #3
- 2. Add Closed Session Item: Accept evaluation recommendations from Executive Vice President Sue Mouck and forward them to the Board

Minutes

Approve minutes from 23, 2013 (Beterbide/Giampaoli: MSCU)

Action

- 1. Acceptance of Curriculum/Academic Standards Committee Recommendations for forwarding to the Board. (Swanson/Beterbide: MSC 1 abstain)

 New PEAC Courses for pre- and off-season athletics

 New Associate of Arts Degree in Anthropology for Transfer

 Class cap recommendations: The Curriculum/Academic Standards committee recommends that there be a 1 to 2 year pilot where the Online and Composition courses be limited to 25 students with Instructor having the discretion to go up to 30 students. At the end of the pilot, data will be evaluated to determine the appropriate number of students for these courses. The Senate agrees with this recommendation
- 2. Approve AP 4235 Credit by Exam (Giampaoli/Beterbide: MSCU).
- 3. Approve BP and AP 4270 Acceptance of Transfer Coursework (Beterbide/Gardiner MSCU)
- 4. Approval of 2013 DSPS IPR (Swanson/Giampaoli: MSCU)
- 5. Approval of 2013 LVN IPR (Giampaoli/Beterbide: MSCU)
- 6. Approve Faculty Handbook for 2013-2014 (Swanson/Beterbie: MSCU)
- 7. Approve Correspondence Handbook for 2013-2014 (Giampaoli/Gardiner: MSCU)
- 8. Ratify Senate elections and seat 2013-2015 senators Cheryl Aschenbach and Carrie Nyman (Giampaoli/Gardiner: MSCU)
- 9. Election of 2013-2014 Senate officers: President Cheryl Aschenbach, Vice-President Nancy Beterbide, Co-Secretaries Lisa Gardiner and Richard Swanson (Giampaoli/Gardiner: MSCU)
- 10. Assign 2013-2014 IPR Mentors

IPR	Faculty Assigned	Senate Mentor
Basic Skills (2013)	Cheryl Aschenbach Noelle Eckley Jackson Ng Robert Schofield Ross Stevenson	Nancy Beterbide

Academic Senate
P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130
Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967
www.lassencollege.edu

	Jake Williams	
Fire Technology (2013)	Dave Trussell	Lisa Gardiner
Gunsmithing (2011/2013)	John Martin Andrew Faircloth	Richard Swanson
Human Services (2009/2011/2013)	Kam Vento Sandy Beckwith Ross Brosius Toni Poulsen	Carrie Nyman Richard Swanson
Welding Technology (2013)	Kory Konkol	Nancy Beterbide
Mathematics/Natural Science (Area A & D2)	Dan Anderson Noelle Eckley Jackson Ng Robert Schofield Ross Stevenson	Michael Giampaoli
Physical Education	Ross Brosius Carrie Nyman	Cheryl Aschenbach
Administration of Justice/Correctional Science	Nancy Beterbide	Richard Swanson
Automotive Technology	Chad Lewis	Lisa Gardiner
Agriculture	Brian Wolf	Carrie Nyman
Business	Garrett Taylor Ken Theobald	Lisa Gardiner
Child Development	Betsy Elam	Cheryl Aschenbach
Digital Graphic Design	Lori Collier	Michael Giampaoli

- 11. Authorize Senate president Cheryl Aschenbach to act on behalf of the Senate during summer (Giampaoli/Gardiner: MSCU)
- 12. Authorize Cheryl Aschenbach to fulfill duties of Minimum Qualifications and Equivalency Chair during Lisa Gardiner's June absence (Gardiner/Beterbide: MSCU)
- 13. Assign 2013-2014 Faculty Committees (Giampaoli/Gardiner: MSCU)

Academic Planning (4 Chairs)

Cheryl Aschenbach - P

Sandy Beckwith - N

Carie Camacho - P

Ross Stevenson - P

Consultation Council/Strategic Planning (5+ALO*)

Cheryl Aschenbach - Senate President (governance rep) - P

Sandy Beckwith (planning rep)- N

Carie Camacho (planning rep) – P

Sue Mouck (ALO) - P

Ross Stevenson (governance rep) – P

Curriculum/Academic Standards (subcommittee of Senate) (7 plus Articulation Officer)

Cheryl Aschenbach - P

Academic Senate
P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130
Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967
www.lassencollege.edu

```
Betsy Elam - P
        Lisa Gardiner - P
        Korv Konkol - P
        Sue Mouck - P
        Toni Poulsen - P
        Chad Lewis - P
        Allison Somerville (AO) – P
Facilities Planning (2)
        Ross Brosius - P
        Garrett Taylor - N
        Brian Wolf - P
        Dan Anderson - P
        Nancy Beterbide - P
```

Human Resource Planning (& Faculty Flex Subcommittee) (3)

Carrie Nyman – P

Colleen Baker (Flex Coordinator) – N

Institutional Technology (3)

Lori Collier - P

Michael Giampaoli – P

Debbie Loeffler- N

Jackson Ng - P

Matriculation Advisory/Student Services Planning (4 incl. Matriculation Officer)

Barbara Baston - N

Noelle Eckley - P

Tom Rogers – P

Jake Williams - P

Scholarship, Financial Aid Appeals, Academic Renewal & Student Grievances (3)

Richard Swanson – P

Glen Yonan - P

Robert Schofield - P

Safety (2) – Ad-hoc committee established Fall 2012

Cindy Howe - N

John Martin - N

Ken Theobald - P

Kam Vento - N

No assignment: one year unpaid leave of absence:

Andrew Faircloth - N

14.

Discussion

1. 2013 Fire Technology IPR

Cheryl has reviewed the current draft. Dave will be making additional revisions. The IPR will be ready for acceptance during summer.

2. GSS Equivalency

GSS Instructor John Martin has spoken with MOE Chair Lisa Gardiner about defining equivalency guidelines specific for GSS. Lisa will take Senate feedback back to John for further discussion.

Information: None

Reports:

Senators: Nancy Beterbide shared that she will be making orange ribbons for everyone to wear at graduation in Kathy Rhymes's honor

> Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu

Administration: None

LCFA: None

Senate moved to closed session at 5:05pm for the following item:

- 1. Approve Minimum Qualifications and Equivalencies and Forward to Board
- 2. Accept Evaluation Recommendations from Executive Vice President Sue Mouck and Forward Them to the Board

Closed session ended at 5:23pm. The following actions were reported:

- 1. No MQE actions were necessary
- 2. Accept Evaluation Recommendations and Forward to the Board (Beterbide/Giampaoli: MSCU) Sue Mouck noted that all faculty evaluation were evaluated for all modalities taught regardless of vocation.

Meeting adjourned at 5:28 p.m. (Gardiner/Beterbide: MSCU)

Next Academic Senate Meetings:

August 27, 2013 at 4pm (First fall meeting)

Additional meetings will be scheduled as necessary

Future Agenda Items:

- AP 4117.5 Attendance Accounting
- 2013 Basic Skills IPR
- 2014 Mathematics/Natural Science IPR (Area A & D2)
- 2014 Physical Education IPR (Area E2)
- 2014 Administration of Justice/Correctional Science IPR
- 2014 Automotive Technology IPR
- 2014 Agriculture IPR
- 2014 Business IPR
- 2014 Child Development IPR
- 2014 Digital Graphic Design IPR