

2012-2013

President

LASSEN COMMUNITY COLLEGE

Approved Minutes Thursday, August 30, 2012

President Aschenbach called the meeting to order at 4:03p.m.

Present: Cheryl Aschenbach, Lisa Gardiner, Michael Giampaoli, Carrie Nyman, Richard Swanson Guests: Lori Collier, Chad Lewis, Sue Mouck

Approval of Agenda (Nyman/Gardiner, MSCU)

Approval of Minutes from the June 6, 2012 meeting (Giampaoli/Gardiner, MSCU)

Public Comment

Lori Collier addressed the Senate requesting that a photo release be added on the student registration card. President Aschenbach said she would bring the request to Consultation Council.

Action Items

- 1. Revise faculty appointments to 2012-2013 committees (Gardiner/Nyman, MSCU)
- 2. Approve recommendations from Curriculum/Academic Standards committee and forward to the Board (Gardiner/Nyman, MSCU)
- Reaffirm Faculty Handbook (approved June 6, 2012) (Giampaoli/ Gardiner, MSCU)
- 4. Reaffirm Correspondence Handbook (approved June 6, 2012) (Giampaoli/ Gardiner, MSCU)
- 5. Approve revisions to Community Service Course Proposal Packet (AP 4400) (Gardiner/Nyman, MSCU)

Discussion on this item included the need for a full hiring packet for current employees to justify that their regular load is covered and as the program grows an evaluation process will be developed. It was acknowledged that community services courses must be self sustaining to include all facility and administrative costs and instructing these courses does not have the same minimum qualification standards as other instructional positions.

- 6. Approve revisions to Institutional Planning/Budget Development Handbook (Giampaoli/Nyman, MSCU)
- 7. Approve Shared Governance Handbook (Nyman/Gardiner, MSCU)
- Establish mentors for 2012-2013 Instructional Program Reviews (Gardiner/Swanson, MSCU) See attached 2012-2013 revised IPR chart
- 9. Approve IPR Handbook (Giampaoli/Swanson, MSCU) In discussion of this item it was acknowledged that this version of the IPR Handbook would be in place until 2014.

Discussion Items

1. BP 6320 (old) Syllabi It was recently discovered that the previous Board policy 6320 Syllabi was not

> Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu

Vice-President Nancy Beterbide

Cheryl Aschenbach

Secretaries

Lisa Gardiner

Richard Swanson

Senators

Michael Giampaoli

Carrie Nyman

converted into the new numbering system. So, old BP 6320 has been split into a BP and an AP. A few additions were made during discussion. This item will be revisited for action on September 11.

- 2. Online Instructor Handbook Carie Camacho has been working on this project. Initial feedback has been requested. This item will return for discussion at another meeting before moving to the action agenda.
- 3. AJ IPR

Nancy Beterbide has worked to get the AJ IPR finished. It includes suggestions for POST, AJ/Correctional Science on campus and AJ/CS via correspondence. This will be moved to action at the next Senate meeting.

Information Items

Reports

- Senators
- Administration
- LCFA

Closed Session

• Minimum Qualifications and Equivalencies No MQEs to review.

Closed Session Report - none necessary

Adjournment at 5:15 (Nyman)

Next Academic Senate Meetings Tuesday, September 11, 2012 Tuesday, September 25, 2012 Tuesday, October 9, 2012 Tuesday, October 23, 2012 Tuesday, November 13, 2012 Tuesday, November 27, 2012 Tuesday, December 11,2012 Additional meetings will be scheduled as necessary.

Future Agenda Items

- Art/Humanities IPR (September 2012)
- Human Services IPR(from 2009) (October 2012).
- Social Science IPR (from May 2011) (September 2012)
- Gunsmithing IPR (from May 2011)
- Journalism IPR (from May 2011)
- Business IPR (from May 2012)
 Agriculture IPR (from May 2012)

Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu

2012-2013 IPRs

IPR	Faculty Assigned	Senate Mentor
Social Science (2011)	Colleen Baker Carie Camacho Toni Poulsen Garrett Taylor	Michael Giampaoli
Fine Art/Humanities (2012)	Cheryl Aschenbach Carie Camacho Michael Giampaoli Richard Swanson	Lisa Gardiner Carrie Nyman
Agriculture (2012)	Brian Wolf	Lisa Gardiner Carrie Nyman
Business (2012)	Garrett Taylor Kam Vento	Michael Giampaoli Nancy Beterbide
Basic Skills (2013)	Cheryl Aschenbach Noelle Eckley Jackson Ng Kathy Rhymes Robert Schofield Ross Stevenson Jake Williams	Nancy Beterbide
Developmental Studies (2013)	Sandy Beckwith Cindy Howe Carrie Nyman	Cheryl Aschenbach Richard Swanson
Automotive Technology (2013)	Chad Lewis	Michael Giampaoli
Fire Technology (2013)	Dave Trussell	Lisa Gardiner
Gunsmithing (2011/2013)	John Martin Andrew Faircloth	Richard Swanson
Human Services (2009/2011/2013)	Kam Vento Sandy Beckwith Ross Brosius Toni Poulsen	Carrie Nyman Richard Swanson
Journalism (2011/2013)	Richard Swanson	Nancy Beterbide
Vocational Nursing (2013)	Monna Walters	Lisa Gardiner Cheryl Aschenbach
Welding Technology (2013)	Kory Konkol	Nancy Beterbide

Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu

Academic Senate P.O. Box 3000 Susanville, CA 96130 Voice (530) 251-6181 ext 8967 www.lassencollege.edu